Summer’s end

Standard

20120809-175207.jpg

I’ve been back in my classroom this week. I cannot believe how fast this summer went by. Because of some unexpected things that came up this summer, we didn’t get to do nearly as much as I had planned on. I feel bad for Tristan – I thought we would spend the summer going to the zoo and to parties and shopping and to the movies – but really he hasn’t gotten a whole lot of adventure. He did get to go to a birthday party this past weekend though, and they had foam!

20120809-175238.jpg

As for my classroom… apparently after two years, you lose some of your momentum to redecorate every summer. My room is pretty much how I want it, but I feel a little guilty that my returning students will be looking at mostly all the same ol’ scenery.

I did add that snazzy new banner to my office window – I got it from Whimzy CreationsΒ on Etsy, in case you’re super jealous and want one for yourself. She also does birthday and party banners and she was really understanding of all my special requests. πŸ˜‰

20120809-175230.jpg

I shamelessly stole the idea for the filing cabinet from Pinterest. I am so excited for my staff kids to use it as an equipment station. The cameras are all organized and locked in the drawers, there are photography tips and reporters’ notebooks on top, and their sign-out sheets and inventory list is stuck to the side. On the “back” is my new and improved make-up work folders (which I also stole from Pinterest). I have a few paper lanterns ordered (which I will post once they arrive) but other than that, my kids just get to walk back in like nothing has changed. πŸ™‚

I had my first staff meeting with the yearbook kiddos yesterday and I think they have lots of great ideas for the new book. My graduated seniors are still working on the last little details of the 2012 book, but we’re hoping to start distributing next week. I can’t believe some of the things we overlooked this year, but I just wasn’t on top of my game. I had pretty serious medical problems all fall – when I wasn’t missing school, I was darting over to the hospital on breaks to do lab work or just suffering through and trying to make it through another day. Before I got all of that under control, we made an offer on our house and then I was super busy gathering documents and filling out paperwork and hoping for the best – I just kept thinking that if we got the house, everything would settle down. And then, the weekend after we moved in to the house, my godmother passed away very unexpectedly. And I spent the rest of the school year just trying to not burst into tears.

It was a really rough year, so as much as I’m sad that the summer is over, I’m glad to be starting over. I have a great group of kids and I enjoy my job and I just need to get back in there and do it better this time. πŸ™‚ Anyone else have some resolutions for this school year?

While you’re thinking of them, I’ll leave you with this… our dinner from last night. Eight of our ten hens are now laying eggs daily, so at any given time we have between 60-75 eggs in our fridge. A little yummy omelette every now and then helps keep the supply in check! πŸ˜‰

20120809-175258.jpg

About jquick3

I'm a mom. I'm a high school teacher. I'm a veteran's wife and a Texas girl and a twentysomething just trying to live the dream. This life isn't always perfect, but it's always the one for me.

Leave a Reply

